How to Get More Clients for Your Professional Services

My target audience on this blog are fraud risk consultants in all their various hues and shades – solo practitioners, small to medium firms, departments (service line) in large firms or functionaries in large organisations. During my nine lives I ‘ve been in all of these. As a service line head in a “Big 4″ firm I remember my Partner saying to me, “You are not generating clients Caleb. Where do you think your salary is coming from?” As a solo practitioner nobody asked me that. Of cause, I asked it myself – of myself!

Today we are talking “Marketing”. Yes, selling your services to generate clients.

The following article is by Ian Brodie. Ian is a consultant and author who helps consultants, coaches and other professionals attract and win more clients. I adore the art of thinking outside the box. No wonder I ‘m such a fan of Ian’s. You can read more of his articles at the More Clients blog.

 

============================================================

Hi Caleb

I’ve been running a simple little test on my marketing recently that’s allowed me to tell what’s going to work and what’s not.

It’s not infallible of course. Life (and marketing) just isn’t that simple.

But it does give me a pretty reliable guide to what elements of my marketing are going to be effective and which I need to rework.

I think it might work for you too.

But before I tell you what it is, I’d like to explain a bit about why I think it works.

==============================
The Battle For Your Attention
==============================
I’m sure you’ve heard this before – but it’s true. We get bombarded with more marketing than ever before these days. An order of magnitude more than even just a few years ago.

As a result, we’ve learned to ignore most marketing.

We either avoid it like when we fast-forward through the ads on Sky+ or Tivo. Or we ignore it like banner ads on websites or the flyers that drop out of magazines.

Out of all the email newsletters you subscribe to, for example, how many do you really read?

As a result, the biggest challenge we face in marketing isn’t connecting with our customers. There are more ways, more marketing channels, more options than ever before for getting our message to our clients.

Our biggest challenge is getting their attention. Getting them to actually take notice of our marketing and take action.

==============================
So What Gets People’s Attention?
==============================
Why would you willingly give your attention to a piece of marketing?

Well, our attention often gets diverted for a short time by the shocking, or the shiny and new.

But for something to consistently capture our attention, it has to be valuable in some sense.

On my shelf at home I’ve got a copy of an advert for a financial magazine that’s over a year old.

Why? Because there are 12 pages of useful articles in that ad (followed by 4 pages describing the additional value you’d get by subscribing).

Which newsletters do I read?

The ones that provide me with valuable information in important areas of my business and life.

Essentially, every time I watch something or read something I make a judgement in the first few seconds: is this going to enhance my life somehow?

If I don’t get the feeling it is, I’ll switch it off, close it up or contrive to ignore it.

If I think it’s got something useful for me, then I’ll give it my attention. But by something useful I don’t mean it’s promoting something useful – it has to have something useful in it itself.

======================================
Valuable Marketing is Marketing that Adds Value
======================================
So that’s the simple test I now apply.

Every letter I write. Every email I send out. Anything that goes up on my website.

I ask the question: “is this piece of marketing actually valuable in it’s own right to my potential clients?”

If it is, I know it’s got a good chance of getting some attention. If it’s not, I know I really ought to redo it somehow to add in the value that’ll get it opened, read or watched.

You should try asking the same question for your own marketing.

– Ian crass

PS – for access to practical templates, examples and step-by-step guides to marketing that adds value to your clients, check out the £5 trial of my Momentum Club.

What do you think? What strategies do you, or your company, use to manage the risk of fraud and error in your organisation? Are you primarily proactive or reactive in your approach to risk management? Share your experience in the Comment box below.

